2023 Thespy Awards National Qualifiers

Ridgefield High School’s chapter of the International Thespians Society–Troupe 8635–had a tremendously successful run at the Southwest Washington Thespian competition on Friday, January 20. Out of the 20 total students who competed in the regional event, 17 received scores that qualified them to advance to the state round of competition, and six scored high enough to qualify for nationals.

“These students all worked incredibly hard on their pieces, and I am so proud of them,” said Kaitlyn Etter, Ridgefield High School’s Theatre and Dance teacher and Director of Troupe 8635. “This is the most success that our Troupe has ever experienced at the Thespys, and we are all excited to continue working as we get ready for the state and national competitions.” 

The following students will be recognized with a yellow ribbon for overall “Excellent” scores (equivalent to silver) in their categories at the State Thespian Festival at Western Washington University in Bellingham March 17-18. These students are:

Solo Musical Theatre
Alissa Avery, Elle Lutz, Ilianna Ikonomou, Megan Hopper, Summer Sedgley and Victoria Bosch 

Musical Theatre Duet
Summer Sedgley and Megan Hopper

Elle Lutz, Madelyn Winter, Robin Turner, Summer Sedgley, and Sunnye Bowerman 

BriAnna Robbins 

Lighting Design 
Emily Trost 

Scenic Design
Caige Sothern

Stage Management
Payton Grimm

Short Film
BriAnna Robbins

Six students will be recognized with a blue ribbon for an overall “Superior” score (equivalent to gold) at the state competition, which also qualifies the following students for nationals in June. These students are:

Solo Musical Theatre 
BriAnna Robbins, Kennadi Jones, Ella Ross, Kaya Felton, and Caige Sothern

Caleb Ceravolo

For the first time ever, this Thursday at 7pm in the PAC there will be a showcase where the majority of these students will be sharing their competition pieces. Come see Ridgefield’s award winning Troupe do their thing! If you’re unable to attend in person, the showcase will also be broadcast on the Performing Arts Center’s YouTube channel.